Using SEO for small businesses

mobile-usability-ranking-factor1

Not optimising the search engine is no doubt a common mistake by many small local business in this digital age.

What is Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) after all? Well, SEO can create the opportunity for your business to be more exposed as it enables potential customers to look for what you offer. However, business owners might have forgone this opportunity since they may not have the knowledge of how powerful SEO can be.

Let me give you an example of how SEO could’ve benefited customers like myself, when I first started working in Brunswick East, I had no idea where I should go for lunch. I have searched on Google for ideas but most of the results appeared to be pubs which wasn’t what I wanted to look for. As a result, I have always been eating at the same restaurant opposite the office for over 6 months. As I explored  more and more about this area, I have finally discovered some really nice restaurant that suited my taste buds. Then I thought to myself, those restaurants could’ve gotten more business if they have better SEO.

 

Getting back to the theory, these are some of the factors the determines the rank of a webpage:

  • Location and frequency of keywords on page
  • Page title
  • Content
  • Quality and relevance
  • Number of other sites linking to page
  • Number of click‐throughs generated by searches

Local restaurant might not have many resources to focus too much on SEO, but they should definitely invest more time on creating a webpage that include the factors that I have just mentioned above. For a local restaurant, they should just start off with creating links to pages like Tomato, Facebook and Instagram. They can also enrich their content by updating their webpage with their special lunch deals or news about the restaurant.

As all businesses are different, some local business owners may argue that they do not need digital marketing. I have worked at a local Japanese restaurant before and I have realised that word- of- mouth marketing would be the most effective strategy rather than using social media. However, if you think SEO would benefit your business, you should definitely go for it!

 

2 comments

  1. Ianzhang · May 14, 2017

    But SEO could be costly for many small businesses as well as if a business operates within a specific region (eg locally), then local ads campaign small scale penetration could be more effective

    Like

    • misslysbethh · May 24, 2017

      It is true that big businesses invest a lot of money on their SEOs, but for a small business, I would say it is possible to achieve a high rank on the SEO at a low cost because you are competing with your local competitor with a similar budget afterall. You just need to do your best to optimise and properly categorise your page.

      Like

Leave a comment